Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16618 Discussions

Quartus II 8.0 issue of PLL

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, 

I am new to Quartus II , I am using Quartus II 8.0 build 215 in that When I instantiate a PLL it errors out for Stratix III and IV ,the error message is as follows: 

Info: Elaborating entity "pll_50_100" for hierarchy "inst_pll" 

Info: Elaborating entity "pll_50_100_bb" for hierarchy "inst_pll|pll1" 

Info: Elaborating entity "altpll" for hierarchy "inst_pll|pll1|altpll_component" 

Error: WYSIWYG primitive "pll" is not compatible with the current device family File: /in/quartus_8.0bld215/quartus/libraries/megafunctions/altpll.t 

df Line: 590 

Error: Can't elaborate user hierarchy "inst_pll|pll1|altpll_component" File: /home/<user>/stratixiv/rtl/cae/altera/design108/qis/qis_s4/verilog/pll_50_100_bb.v Line: 86 

I also checked at Line 590 for altpll.tdf it had the foloowing code: 

INCLUDE "aglobal80"; -- to get the device family information 

INCLUDE "stratix_pll"; -- Stratix wysiwyg 

INCLUDE "stratixii_pll"; -- Stratix II wysiwyg 

INCLUDE "cycloneii_pll"; -- cycloneii wysiwyg 

What could be the possible remedy for this? 

Many thanks
0 Kudos
6 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Sometimes you have to select the correct device family in the PLL MegaWizard. Sometimes you can select one family there and compile for another family. I change the selection in the MegaWizard when I get an error during compilation. 

Later edit: My post was assuming you had a device family other than Stratix III or Stratix IV selected in the MegaWizard.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II