Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16619 Discussions

LVDS Assignment in Quartus

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, 

I am using Quartus II 7.2 for programming a Stratix III device. I have an 8 channel (12 bit) LVDS input that I wish to deserialize and 2 LVDS clocks. I believe the megafunction for deserialization does not work for 12 bit data. Hence I will do it using a verilog program.  

I want to know how I can assign an LVDS input pin to a variable. As we know that each LVDS input has a p and an n pin. Do I need to assign them to a single variable? If so, how? 

As you might have guessed I am a beginner in FPGA programming. 

Thanks a lot 

Jatin Pasrija
0 Kudos
13 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

LVDS I/O are usually represented by one signal in ports and pin assignments, the positive pin is assigned acting for both. The negative pin is assigned automaticly by the fitter. 

LVDS I/O with Startix III is connected to dedicated SERDES hardware, but it can be bypassed. I didn't try, but I assume, it can be done by simply acessing the input in regular logic directly rather instantiating a LVDS receiver. 

To receive 12 Bit serial data, it's possible to use the SERDES hardware as well. e. g. by receiving 2 x 6 bit with double word rate and multiplexing the data to 12 bit. The dedicated LVDS receiver would use the source frame clock only and generate the bitclock from a PLL. This gives more flexibility in adjusting the clock phase than using a fixed bit clock. Lower LVDS rates up to 600 MHz could be also received through DDIO (double data rate) registers, as done in Cyclone series, that has no dedicated SERDES hardware. 

By utilizing an ADC custom or test pattern, the LVDS phase could also be adjusted with DPA. This may be interesting particularly for higher LVDS data rates.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum