Analyzers
Talk to fellow users of Intel Analyzer tools (Intel VTune™ Profiler, Intel Advisor)
4995 Discussions

Having tons of problems with VTune 9.0 Build 991

dave_matsumoto
Beginner
Hi, I'm new to this performance tuning world, and have just started my 30 day trial of VTune and Thread Profiler. I'm having lots of trouble getting it to run properly without crashing or doing weird stuff. I have gone through the Getting Started Tutorial with Primes and didn't have any issues with that, so I am prepared to be told that there is something wrong with the application that I am currently trying to tune.

First, some background information about my system. It is a brand-spanking new Dell Precision T5400, 3GB RAM, quad core Xeon system. I run both Visual Studio 2005 and 2008, and installed VTune with both IDE integration components.

I have run my initial tests with both IDEs, and have had the exact same results. I have also tried running VTune alone and specifying the executable.

Through VS2005 IDE

- Run sampling activity, started paused, app eventually spontaneously wants to exit as if it's being sent a WM_CLOSE message, even without ever starting the activity
- Run call graph for 300s, started paused, app reports DB error on startup. Then get a runtime error, ESP corrupted. see callgraph_esp_corrupt.png
- Run counter for 60s, started paused, VS2005 reports an "internal error" before app even starts up. see counter_vs2005_internalerror.png
- Try to run the same counter activity from the toolbar, VS2005 immediately crashes
- Thread Profiler has some issues. VS2005 crashed during app execution, but app kept running. Although I got a VS2005 "crash", the IDE was still running. Was able to gather data for a short period of time by resuming and stopping in the middle of execution.. However, double clicking on an underutilized thread in the profile view caused VS2005 to crash.

Through VTune, VS2005-compiled app