Analyzers
Talk to fellow users of Intel Analyzer tools (Intel VTune™ Profiler, Intel Advisor)
4998 Discussions

No results generated for this run.

tbaynon
Beginner

Hi all,

I am new to VTune. I am trying to optimize a debug build of a Win32 app using the call graphs. If I run the app through VTune and stop the activity at the application's logon screen, I get results. While this is nice, I am pretty sure my login screen is optimized so it isn't much use. :) If I actually log into the app and use it for a bit I get a popup titled "Run Status" which says "No results were generated for this run. Check the log or output windows for further information." All the output window shows is:

Fri Nov 07 15:06:22 2008 Process c:\Devel\TRADEVISION_2008\bin\TradeVisionD.exe, id "5340", started writing Call Graph data.
Fri Nov 07 15:06:22 2008 Data collection paused...
Fri Nov 07 15:06:22 2008 Process c:\Devel\TRADEVISION_2008\bin\TradeVisionD.exe, id "5340", finished writing Call Graph data.

Anyone have any idea what I am missing? I have run a trial version of VTune successfully on this app in the past.

I am using VTune Performance Analyzer 9.1

Thanks!

Tim

0 Kudos
4 Replies
Ravi_V_Intel
Employee

"Fri Nov 07 15:06:22 2008 Data collection paused..." suggests that data collection is not being started.

You can check several things:

* in "Advanced Activity Configuration" for your Project, please make sure that "Start with data collection paused" is NOT checked (Right click on "Activity" and then select "Properties")

* Double check with the developers of the application to make sure that VTune Analyzer Pause/Resume API is not being used in the application (is it possible that the Pause API was invoked at Application Startup time?)

0 Kudos
tbaynon
Beginner