Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Beginner
2,050 Views

X540 De-emphasis

How do I set the transmitter de-emphasis level to -3.5dB on the X540-BT2?

0 Kudos
15 Replies
Highlighted
Moderator
22 Views

Hello, rdebacker:

Thank you for contacting Intel Embedded Community.

In order to be on the same page, could you please tell us if your question is related to the Intel 10 Gigabit Dual Port X540-BT2 I/O Module Network Adapter or the Intel(R) Ethernet Controller X540?

Waiting for your reply.

Best regards,

Carlos_A.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Beginner
22 Views

Carlos,

My question concerns the X540 10Gb Ethernet Controller.

Thanks

Rene

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Moderator
22 Views

Hello, rdebacker:

Thank you for your clarification.

We suggest you review the information stated in section 9.3.11.13, on page 869 of the https://www.intel.com/content/dam/www/public/us/en/documents/datasheets/ethernet-x540-datasheet.pdf Intel(R) Ethernet Controller X540 Datasheet document # 333168.

We hope that this information may help you.

Best regards,

Carlos_A.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Beginner
22 Views

Carlos,

This bit is read-only and provides status.

I need a method for setting de-emphasis to -3.5dB.

Thanks

Rene

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Moderator
22 Views

Hello, rdebacker:

Thanks for your reply.

In order to better understand your request, could you please let us know the purpose to have this information?

Waiting for your reply.

Best regards,

Carlos_A.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Beginner
22 Views

Carlos,

I am debugging an issue I am having connecting to the PCIe bus.

Current de-emphasis level is -6dB. 2 of 5 prototypes will not link.

PCIe lanes are very short - 1.5 inches.

I would like to see if -3.5dB would help resolve this issue.

Thanks

Rene

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Moderator
22 Views

Hello, rdebacker:

Thanks for your update.

Based on your previous communications, could you please let us know the sources that you have used to develop the design related to this situation? please include names and numbers of the documents associated to this.

We really appreciate your cooperation.

Best regards,

Carlos_A.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Beginner
22 Views

Carlos,

I have reviewed the following Intel specs regarding this issue:

Intel Ethernet Controller X540 Datasheet Order # 333168-002 Revision: 3.0 January 2016

Intel Ethernet Controller X540 Frequently Asked Questions September 2013 Revision 2.6

X540/I350-BT2 Reference Design Rev 2.1 11/27/2012

X550-BT2/X540/I350-BT2 Reference Design Rev 1.9 10/10/2015

Thanks

Rene

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Moderator
22 Views

Hello, rdebacker:

Thanks for your update.

Please let me paraphrase my previous communication, could you please let us know the documents and their numbers that you have used to design the board that is experiencing this technical problem?

Waiting for your reply.

Best regards,

Carlos_A .

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Beginner
22 Views

Carlos,

Here are the available part number plus a few more satellite documents...

333168 Intel Ethernet Controller X540 Datasheet Order # 333168-002 Revision: 3.0 January 2016

No Number Intel Ethernet Controller X540 Frequently Asked Questions September 2013 Revision 2.6

No Number X540/I350-BT2 Reference Design Rev 2.1 11/27/2012

333900 X550-BT2/X540/I350-BT2 Reference Design Rev 1.9 10/10/2015

466430 Intel Ethernet Controller 10G X540-AT2/BT2 Controller Checklists Revision 2.04 6/5/2013

No number Intel Ethernet Controller I350-A Checklists Revision 2.11 8/29/2011

334566 Intel Ethernet Controller X540: Specification Update Rrevision 3.4 1/3/2018

Thanks

Rene

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Moderator
22 Views

Hello, rdebacker:

Thanks for your clarification.

Could you please tell us if the affected design has been reviewed by Intel?

Waiting for your reply.

Best regards,

Carlos_A.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Beginner
22 Views

Carlos,

This design has not been reviewed by Intel.

Our use Altium for schematic capture and Altium is not supported by Intel's automated review tool.

Thanks

Rene

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Moderator
22 Views

Hello, rdebacker:

We suggest you send your design to be reviewed by Intel using the Design Review Service. The procedure to use it is stated on the following website:

https://edc.intel.com/Tools/Design-Review/Default.aspx?language=en https://edc.intel.com/Tools/Design-Review/Default.aspx?language=en

Please send it and let us know if the recommendations provide to you may solve the cited problem.

Waiting for your feedback.

Best regards,

Carlos_A.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Beginner
22 Views

Carlos,

We use Altium for schematic capture.

The Intel automated schematic tool does not support Altium.

Rene

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Moderator
22 Views

Hello, rdebacker:

Thanks for your confirmation.

We suggest you previous use Intel Schematic Review service as a reference apply the suggestion stated at:

https://www.altium.com/documentation/15.1/display/ADES/WorkspaceManager_Cmd-ExportToPDF((ExportToPDF))_AD https://www.altium.com/documentation/15.1/display/ADES/WorkspaceManager_Cmd-ExportToPDF((ExportToPDF))_AD

We hope that this information may help you.

Best regards,

Carlos_A.

0 Kudos