Gaming on Intel® Processors with Intel® Graphics
Ask questions and get answers, tips/tweaks, and techniques from product and technology experts
380 Discussions

Drivers Keep Rolling Back to an outdated version (27.20.100.9664).

aryaara
Beginner

Hello, I am new to PC gaming and didn't get this computer for the main use of gaming but rather school work. Though, I occasionally play some FPS games at times. I have always had FPS lag issues since I started playing but a friend advised that I update my graphics drivers and that could fix the issue which I did.  A few months ago, I updated my drivers to the current version (31.0.101.2111) and that did fix my lag a little. I was then able to use clipping software without experiences any FPS drops for a while. After a few days, I realized that this issue started again where I would lag during games and I checked my graphics driver to see that the previous drivers (27.20.100.9664) had been reinstalled. I manually reinstalled the current one multiple times but after a few days, it would roll back without my approval and it is getting quite frustrating. I was recently advised to manually uninstall the outdated driver and manually install the current one again, which I did a few days ago, but today, it rolled back again. I don't want to keep reinstalling the drivers as it is getting quite time consuming and annoying. Does any one happen to have a fix for this?  

Incase this helps, these are the specifications for my computer.

aryaara_0-1662245363788.png

This is the driver it keeps rolling back to.

aryaara_1-1662245426843.png

*Additional information: I use Windows 11*

0 Kudos
1 Solution
HueSplat
Novice

This is normal behavior with a prebuilt or laptop, the manufacturer validates a specific driver for your hardware and sends a list of what drivers it wants Microsoft to push to its devices basically.

There are a couple of workarounds.