Intel® Fortran Compiler
Build applications that can scale for the future with optimized code designed for Intel® Xeon® and compatible processors.

Calling Intel Fortran from Python

ferrad1
New Contributor I

I am a newbie at this.  I started with the example in https://www.numfys.net/howto/F2PY/

I have just installed Anaconda and already have Intel Fortran.  I created the file primes.f95, and issued the command:   

python -m numpy.f2py -c primes.f95 -m primes

out of which followed 100 lines of screen dump.  Two items I noted here was that it doesn't know which Fortran complier I want to use - it went through my path and found all sorts of old Fortran compilers I have used for ages (Compaq, Gnu, etc).  So y first question is how to I tell python (or f2py?) that I want to use Intel Visual Fortran?

The second issue I see is that it doesn't seem to understand spaces in the ifort.exe path:

Found executable C:\Program Files (x86)\IntelSWTools\compilers_and_libraries_2017.2.187\windows\bin\intel64\ifort.exe
Could not locate executable C:\Program

ifort: command line warning #10161: unrecognized source type 'Files'; object file assumed
ifort: command line warning #10161: unrecognized source type '(x86)\IntelSWTools\compilers_and_libraries_2017.2.187\windows\bin\intel64\ifort.exe'; object file assumed
ifort: command line warning #10006: ignoring unknown option '/c '

Perhaps the latter problem will go away if I can give a proper path to answer the first problem.

Maybe there are better examples or starring points out there? Any help greatly appreciated.

0 Kudos
6 Replies
ferrad1
New Contributor I

Adding this fixes the first problem:

--fcompiler=intelvem

I still have the "space" issue.

0 Kudos
avinashs
New Contributor I