Intel® Fortran Compiler
Build applications that can scale for the future with optimized code designed for Intel® Xeon® and compatible processors.
28729 Discussions

Comments in Namelist Read From Character String Broken

Jeff_L_
Beginner

Hi, I am not a Fortran expert by any means but have been searching for a solution to a particular problem that I'm having and have not had any success in finding a solution. Any help or feedback would be much appreciated.

I have a Fortran program that receives a character string from an external source (3rd party lib) that contains Namelist inputs. I have been using the READ statement to read the string directly into my namelist variables and all has been working well it seemed. However, recently I came along a use case where comments were embedded in the input string. All namelist inputs before the comment were read in correctly but all namelist inputs after the comment was ignored and the read statement returned a -1. I set up a small program to emulate the behavior and am including an example below. The namelist input string looks like the following:

$NLA

a = 1,

! This is a comment

b = 1,

$

---- Example Program to Emulate Problem ---

CHARACTER*255 temp

INTEGER(KIND=4) :: a, b, IOS

NAMELIST /NLA/ a, b

a = 0

b = 0

temp = "$NLA" // CHAR(10) // " a = 1," // CHAR(10) // " ! This is a comment, " // CHAR(10) // " b = 1," // CHAR(10) // "$"

READ(temp, NLA, IOSTAT=IOS)

--- End Program ---

Inexplicably to me, after the read, a=1 but b is still 0 and IOS = -1. It appears that the comment has somehow commented out the rest of the string. I thought this might have something to do with newlines and/or carriage returns needing to be in the right place in the string but have had no luck in getting anything to work. If I take out the comment, then b is set to 1 appropriately.