Intel® Fortran Compiler
Build applications that can scale for the future with optimized code designed for Intel® Xeon® and compatible processors.
28383 Discussions

Crash with allocatable structures in OpenMP loop

Sebastien__Bardeau

Hi,

running the attached OpenMP code with ifort 18.0.3 results in a segmentation fault:

$ ifort -fopenmp gtemplate.f90 -o gtemplate && ./gtemplate
forrtl: severe (174): SIGSEGV, segmentation fault occurred
forrtl: severe (174): SIGSEGV, segmentation fault occurred

Does anyone confirm the crash? And what could be the issue? Something illegal with the private-per-thread structure? Thanks,

Sebastien

0 Kudos
9 Replies
Juergen_R_R
Valued Contributor I

Salut Sebastien, I am not an expert on OMP. But this looks not very good. I can confirm the issue with both ifort and NAG. I assume that the problem is that you have an OMP-parallel loop accessing the global object hbeam and its component. This generates a race condition, most likely if more than one thread tests positively for hbeam%teles being allocated and trying to deallocate it in parallel. 

0 Kudos
Sebastien__Bardeau

The structure "hbeam" is declared FIRSTPRIVATE, which means that 1) each thread should have its own copy and 2) each copy should be identical (i.e. values initialized) to the original structure. From this point I believe I should be able to deallocate each copy. As I do not reproduce the crash with gfortran, I thought it was an ifort issue. But if you believe that's an OpenMP problem, I can ask for help on comp.lang.fortran.

0 Kudos
Sebastien__Bardeau

Hi, I am facing again a crash when using allocatable arrays in structures, when the structures are set as PRIVATE in a parallel OpenMP region. I could not test the latest ifort release. Can anyone check if the example I attached in my first post still crashes? Thanks.

0 Kudos
jimdempseyatthecove
Honored Contributor III