Intel® Fortran Compiler
Build applications that can scale for the future with optimized code designed for Intel® Xeon® and compatible processors.

Error #6634. COMMON Variable is being passed to C

Jonas_T_2
Beginner

Hello,

I am currently trying to convert our Powerstation 4.0 Fortran code to Intel Visual Fortran to achieve better debugging possibies. The application is a mix between C, C++ and Fortran 77. A lot of posts in this forum helped me a great deal to walk this path. But now I encountered an error, where I don't know how to solve it properly.

I recieve the following two errors, which both relate to the line CALL SPROT(LFL) in x.f:

error #6633: The type of the actual argument differs from the type of the dummy argument.   [LFL]

error #6634: The shape matching rules of actual arguments and dummy arguments have been violated.   [LFL]

They are obviously both closely related, but since I am a beginner in Fortran, I don't know how to declare LFL or modify the Interface declaration to have them work together without changing the way the COMMON block is adressed, because it is used in a lot of other places in the program.

cmodule.f90:

module cmodule

!DllExport int WINAPI sprot(char* cBuf)
    Interface
    subroutine SPROT (cBuf) &
        BIND(C, name="SPROT")
    use, INTRINSIC :: ISO_C_BINDING
    IMPLICIT NONE
    !DEC$ ATTRIBUTES STDCALL :: SPROT
    character cBuf
    end subroutine SPROT
    end interface

end module

x.f:

SUBROUTINE STDAUS
        use cmodule

COMMON /CWRI
     1  / NF,NF0,LFL(1058),LFT(128),LFS(16,
     1  200
     2  )
C       ...
        CALL SPROT(LFL)
C       ...
        END SUBROUTINE

0 Kudos
1 Solution
JVanB
Valued Contributor II

I am assuming from the error #6633 the LFL is implicitly typed as INTEGER, so that its usage is to provide a buffer for data from the C function that the Fortran code won't parse directly. Then I would change line 9 of x.f to

CALL SPROT(C_LOC(LFL))