Intel® Fortran Compiler
Build applications that can scale for the future with optimized code designed for Intel® Xeon® and compatible processors.

Extraneous error message

fort
Beginner

When a syntax error is present, I often get two error messages, e.g.:

pint.F(1686): error #5082: Syntax error, found '.' when expecting one of: :: ) , : * <END-OF-STATEMENT> ; . (/ + - ] /) ' ** / // > PRIVATE ...
if(cutregion.lt.1 .or nregions.lt.1) then
----------------------------^
pint.F(1296): error #5508: Declaration of routine 'RMDUPES' conflicts with a previous declaration
subroutine rmdupes(n, xin, yin, zin, kv, xt, yt, zt,

Error #5508 has nothing to do with the syntax error.

I have 40 years of Fortran experience, but only a few months of "Intel Developer" experience.  Don't hesitate to remind me:

How to determine which compiler version I'm running (2022.0.0?)

How to determine if my issue has been addressed in another post.

Intel's preferences (# of lines...) for submitting code samples.

Thanks,

0 Kudos
1 Solution
Steve_Lionel
Honored Contributor III

1. To see the compiler version, there are a couple of options. I'm not sure which OS you're using but invoking the compiler from a command prompt will show the version. For example:

D:\Projects>ifort
Intel(R) Fortran Intel(R) 64 Compiler Classic for applications running on Intel(R) 64, Version 2021.6.0 Build 20220226_000000

On Linux and MacOS, add the -logo option to see this.

If you are using Visual Studio on Windows, open the buildlog.htm in the Debug or Release folder. There will be a line like this:

Compiling with Intel® Fortran Compiler Classic 2021.3.0 [Intel(R) 64]...

2. Don't bother. 

3. Ideally, two things. First, the smallest, self-contained example that demonstrates the problem. Also include your full test case. If it's multiple files or large, use ZIP or tgz, etc. These can be attached to a reply here.