Intel® Fortran Compiler
Build applications that can scale for the future with optimized code designed for Intel® Xeon® and compatible processors.
28455 Discussions

Fortran 90 intrinsic functions slow?

Eric3
Beginner

Hello everybody,

I am trying to reduce the execution time of an existing program for a 2D flow simulation, which was originally written in Fortran 77. Since i am quite new to Fortran programming, at first i tried to gather some information about efficient coding. Many times i was recommended to make use of the "new" intrinsic functions, since this way the compiler would be told whats going on and could perform some optimizations (e.g. vectorization). Although, these functions and the use of vector expressions instead of scalar ones made my code much more compact and elegant, the computation run time increased to my surprise.

These are some code snippets in the old and new version, and the respective required cpu time (3 runs each):

===========================================================================
1. Example CSHIFT
: performs a shift of the elements in a matrix by one element along all directions (including diagonals)
===========================================================================

old: t = 8.777; 8.553; 8.789 s
-----------------------------------
do j=1,nj
  do i=1,ni
    ie = mod(i,ni) + 1
    iw = ni - mod(ni+1-i,ni)
    jn = mod(j,nj) + 1
    js = nj - mod(nj+1-j,nj)

fn(ie,j ,1) = f(i,j,1)
    fn(i ,jn,2) = f(i,j,2)
    fn(iw,j ,3) = f(i,j,3)
    fn(i ,js,4) = f(i,j,4)
    fn(ie,jn,5) = f(i,j,5)
    fn(iw,jn,6) = f(i,j,6)
    fn(iw,js,7) = f(i,j,7)
    fn(ie,js,8) = f(i,j,8)
    fn(i ,j ,0) = f(i,j,0)
  enddo
enddo
----------------------------------------
new: t = 11.009; 11.241; 11,033 s
-----------------------------------------
fn(:,:,0) = f(:,:,0)
fn(:,:,1) = cshift(f(:,:,1),-1,1)
fn(:,:,2) = cshift(f(:,:,2),-1,2)
fn(:,:,3) = cshift(f(:,:,3),1,1)
fn(:,:,4) = cshift(f(:,:,4),1,2)