Intel® Fortran Compiler
Build applications that can scale for the future with optimized code designed for Intel® Xeon® and compatible processors.
28543 Discussions

How to call C++ cout statement in Fortran

rakeshthp
Beginner
Hello,

I am new to FORTRAN.. And have knowledge of nothing.. Basically what i want to do is that, i want to redirect the output from console to a widget say a textbox.. In C++ i am able to do it.. Now i have a part of my project in FORTRAN... And there are some print statements in it.. So I want to redirect the output of this code to the textbox..

So what i thought is that, anyhow it is working with C++'s cout statement, why cant we replace fortran's print statement by C++'s cout statement..

I just want to know is it directly or indirectly possible to print this output using

std::cout

stmt in FORTRAN Code..?? I mean to say, to print the output to the console using C++'s cout statement??

If so, how it can be done?? I want to display output of fortran code into a textbox and my application is written in C++..

Or is there any alternative solution to implement this..??

Please share your ideas and comments.

Thanks in advance
0 Kudos
6 Replies
Steven_L_Intel1
Employee
You cannot call C++'s "cout" from fortran. You can call a C++ routine that does what you want - I think this is the best approach.
0 Kudos
rakeshthp
Beginner
Hello Steve,

Thanks for your quick reply.. You mean to say that, i have to write a C++ function which contains my cout statement.. and then call this routine from FORTRAN..?? If so, then can just give me a hint, as to how to go about it.?? I am new to FORTRAN and just know some basic things.. How can I call this C++ functions in FORTRAN code..

I mean, there are classes and objects in C++ .. So, how to do this.?

Thanks in advance
0 Kudos
Steven_L_Intel1
Employee
Here's a simple example:

C++ code:

[cpp]#include 

extern "C" void cout_sub (char * string) {
std::cout << string;
}[/cpp]

Fortran code: