Intel® Fortran Compiler
Build applications that can scale for the future with optimized code designed for Intel® Xeon® and compatible processors.

Linking FORTRAN/C

ambthiru
Beginner

I am pretty new to FORTRAN and mixed language programming. I have this C programwith "main" function (and other functions inone .cfile)which when run outputs data into a .txt file. I need to call this C program from a FORTRAN code. I figured that you will have to use "INTERFACE" in the FORTRAN code for that. So when I create a dll of the C code and write $DEC! .... in my FORTRAN program and try to build the .exe file using CVF I get the following errors.

1. LNK 2001 - unresolved external symbol
2. LNK 1120 - unresolved externals

Pleaselet me knowhow to go about accomplishing the above.

0 Kudos
4 Replies
anthonyrichards
New Contributor III

Before you can hope to get help, you need to post your C-code, in particular the lines showing your function prototype(s). You also need to show what Fortran code you have written. You also need to read the 'mixed language programming' sections of the Fortran user manual.

Since you are creating a DLL from the C-code, you will be EXPORTing symbols into a .LIB file which has to be included withthe Fortran project, which will also have toinclude relevant IMPORT directives before you stand a chance of getting the Fortran code to 'find' the DLL functions during LINKing stage.

See also the recent thread 'Linking C/Fortran' http://softwareforums.intel.com/en-us/forums//topic/51516

0 Kudos
ambthiru
Beginner

The C code looks somewhatlike the one below

#include

#include

#include

void

UserInput(char *input,char *output);

void

NSIMain(int argc,char **argv)

{

char sInput[1024] = " ";

char sOutput[1024] = " ";

if

(argc>1)

{

printf(

"/n",*sInput);

printf(

"/n ",*sOutput);

}

else

{

UserInput(sInput,sOutput);

}

}

void main(int argc,char **argv)

{

NSIMain(argc,argv);

}

void

UserInput(char *input,char *output)

{