Intel® Fortran Compiler
Build applications that can scale for the future with optimized code designed for Intel® Xeon® and compatible processors.

Olden days of Fortran question

JohnNichols
Valued Contributor III
IF(IT.LE.49) GO TO 476                    !   00335000

WRITE(*,70107)                       !   00336000
70107 FORMAT(" ","CONVERGENCE FLAG: UNABLE TO ACHIEVE SATISFACTORY CLUST1ERS AFTER 50 ITERATIONS.")     !   00338000

476 WRITE(6,466)                        !   00339000
466 FORMAT(" ",//," NO. OF CLUSTERS",3X,"PART. COEFF.",5X,"LOWER BOUND",5X,"ENTROPY",5X,"NUMBER OF ITERATIONS")

I have been programming Fortran since 1978, I have seen the ! 0033500 numbers before - but what were they for? 

Did these olden day folk, always use the if ..... goto ... instead of a proper if   then else etc... 

0 Kudos
27 Replies
GVautier
New Contributor II

It's the line/card number at position 73 to 80 on punch cards. This is the reason of the 72 characters per line limit in Fortran.

Later it was used by first text editors.

The three last digits are the fractional part allowing line/card insertion.

There were "tools" to renumber to plain line numbers.

0 Kudos
mecej4
Honored Contributor III

And, if you slipped on an icy sidewalk and dropped the card deck of your program on the way to the computer center, you picked up the cards, and fed them to the card sorting machine at the computer center, which would return your deck sorted by columns 73-80.

Numbering cards by increments of 1000 indicates that the programmer had big plans, leaving herself/himself scope for adding up to another 999 cards between currently adjacent cards.

0 Kudos
Barbara_P_Intel

sorting them ... assuming the cards didn't get all wet when they landed!!

0 Kudos
AlHill
Super User

Remember:  9 edge in, face down.

Doc (not an Intel employee or contractor)
[Windows 11 is the new Vista]

0 Kudos
JohnNichols
Valued Contributor III