Intel® Fortran Compiler
Build applications that can scale for the future with optimized code designed for Intel® Xeon® and compatible processors.

Pls Help: VF multithread Programing

wisperless
Beginner

I am a beginner of VF multithread programming. Can anyone give me a sample code how to parallel calculating the summation of 100 numbers, such as one part for the summation from 1 to 50,the other from51 to 100? Thank you :)

Calculating the summation of 100 numbers from 1 to 100

VF sequential code:

integer sum

sum=0

do i=1, 100

sum=sum+i

enddo

0 Kudos
7 Replies
Steven_L_Intel1
Employee
This particular code is faster to compute in a single thread. Let me suggest that you read through the chapter on parallel programming in the "Optimizing Applications" section of the Intel Fortran on-disk documentation.
0 Kudos
wisperless
Beginner

Steve,

Thank you for your reply and I agree with you in my particular sample code. But I met thelow calculation speed probemwhenI tried to calcuate the summation over ten throusands of numbers in several timesin a real-time application.Thus I am trying to switch to the multithreads to improve the speed.

Icould not find the document you mentioned in the VF folder since I downloaded the VF after I placedmy order online. Could you please give me a link for that? I really appreciate your help.

0 Kudos
Steven_L_Intel1
Employee

The particular kind of code you have is best done using OpenMP and with a REDUCTION clause. To see the documentation I referred to, Start > All Programs > Intel Software Development Tools > Intel Fortran Compiler 9.1 > Documentation. You can also select Help..Intel Visual Fortran Help in Visual Studio.

Under "Document", click "Intel Visual Fortran Compiler Documentation." Click on the + by "Optimizing Applications" and then "Parallel Programming". Read from there.

0 Kudos
wisperless
Beginner

Steve,

Thank you for your help. I am working on that section now. :)