Intel® Fortran Compiler
Build applications that can scale for the future with optimized code designed for Intel® Xeon® and compatible processors.

SYSTEMQQ and PATH

greldak
Beginner
I am trying to run a small DOS program from a third party using a command shell with either the SYSTEM or SYSTEMQQ routines, however I cannot persuade the program to run ( the command returns success though) I have traced the problem to the PATH environment variable that the shell is picking up being different to that picked up when I start a command prompt from outside of the program. Can anyone enlighten me as to how to either pick up the same PATH variable or point me to which one the SYSTEMQQ routine uses.
I am running CVF 6.6B on Windows XP Pro
0 Kudos
14 Replies
ssragunath
Beginner

Hi,

I am not an expert user, but I have successfully run a program using RUNQQ. The syntax is result = RUNQQ (filename, commandline). Example result = RUNQQ('myprog', '-c -r'). In this case you just need to keep 'myprog' in the same directory as your DSW file. Hope this helps.

Thanks.

0 Kudos
greldak
Beginner
Unfortunately in this case I cannot rely on the program being run residing in the same folder as the fortran executable or indeed in any particular location which is why I need my program to pick up the PATH correctly.
0 Kudos
Jugoslav_Dujic
Valued Contributor II

But have you tried just RUNQQ instead?

Environment variables, including PATH, set by SETENVQQ (or SetEnvirnomentVariable api)are local to a command shell process. When you call SYSTEMQQ, you spawn another instance of command shell, which -- I think -- does not inherit the environment from the launching process. RUNQQ should not have that effect.

However, one thing is puzzling me -- you appear to know the directory where the .exe in question resides. Why don't you just launch it with the full path string instead of fiddling with PATH? Or is PATH set by something else?

Jugoslav

0 Kudos
greldak
Beginner