Intel® Fortran Compiler
Build applications that can scale for the future with optimized code designed for Intel® Xeon® and compatible processors.
28502 Discussions

error #6633: The type of the actual argument differs from the type of the dummy argument.

Matin_E_
Beginner

I am new to programming with Intel Fortran so I think there is something missing or wrongly organized that I am not aware of in this case. I would be grateful if someone can help me in this regard.

The problem is that I see the following errors when compiling my code, while I believe that I have declared the derived type variables cr and me correctly.

error #6633: The type of the actual argument differs from the type of the dummy argument.   [CR]

error #6633: The type of the actual argument differs from the type of the dummy argument.   [ME]

My code contains a Module named InputData which contains the definition of the derived type gridand declaration of the derived type variables cr and me of type grid. I make use of these definitions in the main program using a USE statement. The error refers to a line in the main program which CALLs an internal subroutine that uses cr and “me” as input argument (INTENT(IN)). Surprisingly, I use exactly the same way for declaring the derived type variable ls of type Levelsetdefined in Module OutputData using a USE statement in the Main program and get no error on that variable in the same subroutine. Adding a USE InputData statement to the subroutine ComputeLSalso did not address the issue.

I tried to remove all modules and include all type definitions and variable declarations in the Main program instead of in separate modules. But unfortunately the errors still exist.

@SteveLionel

0 Kudos
1 Solution
mecej4
Honored Contributor III

You have two types of mistakes in the source files.