Intel® Fortran Compiler
Build applications that can scale for the future with optimized code designed for Intel® Xeon® and compatible processors.
28517 Discussions

ifortvars.csh setenv: too many arguments

feitouzi
Beginner
Hi,

I'm a newbie system administrator. Recently I installed Fortran 11.1.075 on my 64-bit SUSE Linux box (SLES 10 SP2). When sourcing the ifortvars.sh file under bash, it worked perfectly. However, when I switched to csh or tcsh, and
source /opt/intel/Compiler/11.1/075/bin/ifortvars.csh intel64
It gives back an error message
setenv: Too many arguments.

I checked the syntax and couldn't find where the setenv syntax may be wrong. I have, however, isolated the issue to this line:
source /opt/intel/Compiler/11.1/075/bin/intel64/ifortvars_intel64.csh;

Specifically, when I go into the /opt/intel/Compiler/11.1/075/bin/intel64/ifortvars_intel64.csh file, it seens that the INTEL_LICENSE_FILE variable is not set.

Anybody have any advice? Thanks!
0 Kudos
2 Replies
feitouzi
Beginner
I managed to solve the problem.

In /opt/intel/Compiler/11.1/075/bin/intel64/ifortvars_intel64.csh, in the first clause to append to the PATH variable, for some reason the original command is not working. I modified this:

if !($?PATH) then
setenv PATH /opt/intel/Compiler/11.1/075/bin/intel64
else
setenv PATH /opt/intel/Compiler/11.1/075/bin/intel64:${PATH}
endif

with this:

if !($?PATH) then
setenv PATH /opt/intel/Compiler/11.1/075/bin/intel64
else
setenv PATH "/opt/intel/Compiler/11.1/075/bin/intel64:${PATH}"
endif

And all is well. The same worked for the C Compiler. I still don't understand why the original syntax, which seems correct, gave trouble, but at least now things work.

Thanks!
0 Kudos
Hirchert__Kurt_W
New Contributor II
Quoting feitouzi
And all is well. The same worked for the C Compiler. I still don't understand why the original syntax, which seems correct, gave trouble, but at least now things work.