Intel® Fortran Compiler
Build applications that can scale for the future with optimized code designed for Intel® Xeon® and compatible processors.

link error

uhahaha
Beginner
Hi:

I am brand new to Visual Fortran and tried to test VF Composer XE. But I am getting the link error:

Error 1 fatal error LNK1104: cannot open file 'kernel32.lib'

The code is just a plain simple 'hello world' one. My dev environ is Win7 x64, VS 2010.

Thank you. I would appreciate any help.

0 Kudos
9 Replies
Steven_L_Intel1
Employee
This means that either the Platform SDK part of Visual Studio did not install or the VS environment doesn't see it. In VS, go to Tools > Options > Intel Visual Fortran > Compilers. Click on the ... button to the right of Libraries. Copy the contents and paste it into a reply here.

When you installed VS2010, did you accept the default configuration or did you customize it?
0 Kudos
uhahaha
Beginner

Hi:

I think I left out VB.NET, J#.NET when I installed VS2010. Otherwise, I installed with the default config. I have no trouble compiling C++ andC#. The Fortran libraries are:

$(IFortInstallDir)compiler\lib\ia32

$(IFortInstallDir)mkl\lib\ia32

$(VCInstallDir)atlmfc\lib

$(VCInstallDir)lib

$(WindowsSdkDir)lib

$(FrameworkSDKDir)\lib

Thanks.

0 Kudos
Steven_L_Intel1
Employee
Ok, that should be good so far. Now, do you have a folder C:\Program Files\Microsoft SDKs\Windows\v6.0A\Lib ? (that 6.0A may be something different in VS2010 - don't have that on this system yet.)
0 Kudos
uhahaha
Beginner
Hi:

I have v6.0A folder, but only Bootstrapper subfolder. No Lib folder.
I also have v7.0A folder & do have Lib subfolder. I have the folder tree:

v7.0A
|
Lib
|__IA64
| |__AclUI.Lib,... , Kernel32.Lib, ... , xpsprint.lib
|
|__x64
| |__AclUI.Lib, ... , Kernel32.Lib, ... , xpsprint.lib
|
|______AclUI.Lib, ... , Kernel32.Lib, ... , xpsprint.lib

Thank you.
0 Kudos
TimP
Honored Contributor III