Intel® MPI Library
Get help with building, analyzing, optimizing, and scaling high-performance computing (HPC) applications.
2165 Discussions

Fatal error: mpi.h: no such file or directory

MaxAmer
Novice

Hello all,

I have just installed the oneAPI basic and HPC toolkits for compiling some parallelised cpp code.

I have added the "mpi/<version>/bin" and the "mpi/<version>/include" routes to the path, however when I try to compile the code with make using the mpicxx compiler I get the error mentioned in the subject:

Fatal error: mpi.h: no such file or directory

#include "mpi.h"  (inside one of the .cpp files of the code)

compilation terminated

I am not very used to compiling cpp code, and it is my first time using intel compilers, so this might be a very basic and easy to solve issue but I have no idea how to approach it.

Any insight is appreciated, thank you!

Max.

Labels (1)
0 Kudos
1 Solution
MaxAmer
Novice

Update!

I had mistakenly assumed that setting the environment variables with ". /opt/intel/oneapi/setvars.sh" was all good and done, but I did not remember that the environment must be reloaded each session.

So what I did is source the setvars.h to the bashrc so I don't have to load it each time and now it compiled without issues.

Happy to have solved it by myself even though this is probably a very basic mistake!

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
4 Replies
ShivaniK_Intel

Hi,

Thanks for posting in the Intel forum.

Could you please provide us with the details of the OS, and output of lscpu command?

Let us know the Intel mpi version you have been using by running the below command.

mpirun --version

Could you also please provide us with the command line you have been using to compile the code?

Thanks & Regards

Shivani

0 Kudos
MaxAmer
Novice

Hi Shivani,

- OS is Ubuntu 22.04.2 LTS

- lscpu output:

Architecture: x86_64
CPU op-mode(s): 32-bit, 64-bit
Address sizes: 46 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
Byte Order: Little Endian
CPU(s): 32