Intel® Moderncode for Parallel Architectures
Support for developing parallel programming applications on Intel® Architecture.

Dual-Core FAQ for Developers

gkoch
Beginner
All, I'm an ex-IDS editor writing up a draft of an FAQ for developers about dual-core. (It's going to be posted on IDS.) So I thought I'd check in this newsgroup to see if there any burning questions about dual-core chips that you'd like to see answered by Intel experts? Anything is fair game... including desktop (here today) and laptop and server (both coming relatively soon). Thanks for sharing your thoughts!
Geoff (gkoch AT stanfordalumni DOT org)
0 Kudos
3 Replies
gkoch
Beginner
Well, I've trolled around a bit and come up with several questions from the developer community. Here's a sampling. And if anyone wants to take a stab at answering even a few of them, that would be great!
Q's:

Is Pentium-D intentionally crippled as to how much RAM it will support (2GB, 3GB)? Is the supposition about MMIO assigned by BIOS to the 3GB to 4GB range correct? Does OS make a difference? Will future dual cores have such limitation?

SuSE 9.3 is said to be the first OS recommended for AMD Dual Core. Pentium-D appears to run well (with just 2GB RAM) under RH EL4 64-bit, a rather expensive OS. Will future Intel dual core be supported only under expensive new OS releases?

What is time frame foreseen for Windows to have adequate support (NUMA scheduling, etc) for multiple socket dual core?

AMD dual core 2.2Ghz single socket is said to require 460W power supply, and mortality rate appears high. Will power supply and heat rejection problems be typical of dual core?