Intel® Moderncode for Parallel Architectures
Support for developing parallel programming applications on Intel® Architecture.

Need single thread dll in fortran

Marco_S_1
Beginner

Hi,
sorry i am a mathematician who can more or less program, so, please, forgive my low level question. I am building a 32bit dll with intel fortran 2013 from visual studio 2010 on windows.I need to call it from R ( a statistical program). which requires very simple single thread dlls (obviously no MP). At the office i have a 32bit single core processor and windows Xp and I can compile and call it OK. At home I have an i5 quadricore 64bit. on windows 7 and I don't have the single thread option in VS (so it always compiles with the /threads option). I believe this is why I get the message "#1 is not a valid win32 application" when I load a version compile at home. Can anyone suggest how i can select the single thread option from VS2010 or add a compiler directive at home?

many thanks, marco.  

0 Kudos
5 Replies
jimdempseyatthecove
Honored Contributor III

Where are you placing your DLL?

Your first experiment is to eliminate variables in cause for error. On your 32-bit machine, write a Fortran "hello world" that makes a simple call to your DLL. Test it on your 32-bit machine to make sure it works. Then on your 64-bit system, creat a new folder (not in a Windows system folder) and place your DLL and "hello world" application that calls the dell into this folder. IOW the .exe and .dll reside in the same folder and this folder is not a Windows folder. Launch a CMD session (aka "DOS" box), set current directory this test folder and run the test application.

Do you get the same error?

Jim Dempsey

0 Kudos
TimP
Honored Contributor III