Intel® Moderncode for Parallel Architectures
Support for developing parallel programming applications on Intel® Architecture.

Parallel Error Diffusion

Tudor
New Contributor I
Hello there,

My name is Tudor, I am from Romania, and I am new to these forums.
I am also quite new to the paradigm of parallel and multi-core programming (started studying about it one year ago).
In order to get a good start, I purchased 'Multi-core Programming" from Intel Press (an excellent book btw) and found the first implementation challenge: an error diffusion algoritm (page 42 for whoever owns the book, for whoever doesn't, Intel has conveniently released an excerpt with that part at http://www.intel.com/intelpress/excerpts/mcp1.htm).
I have attempted to implement the parallel algorithm as the book suggests, but have come across a problem: if thread A is processing the line directly above thread B, thread B waits until thread A has processed the first 2 pixels of its line. After this, thread B can start to process its line, then thread C and so on. The problem is, since threads get preempted, nobody guarantees that thread B won't go ahead of thread A at some point and process pixels it shouldn't (i.e. it doesn't lag behind A as it should). So, I have tried to implement a system to override the preemption, by preventing a thread from advancing if its progress (number of pixels already processed) is less by 1 than the progress of the previous thread. However, the algorithm still seems to fail at some point and I get different results compared to the sequential version, even though my console output says that the threads work correctly.

Sorry for the long rant. Here is the method I have implemented (C#):

[c-sharp]        private static int[][] ParallelErrorDiffusion(int[][] input, int height, int width)
{
int k;
int[] progress = new int[height];

Thread[] threads = new Thread[cpus];
AutoResetEvent[] events = new AutoResetEvent[height];

for (k = 0; k < height; k++)
{