Intel® Moderncode for Parallel Architectures
Support for developing parallel programming applications on Intel® Architecture.

Q6600 core temps and overclocking

rbreckwoldt
Beginner

Hi all:

I am new to overclocking, and after much reading and experimentation, I have managed to overclock my Q6600 Quad Core 2.4 MHz up to 3.6 Mhz with surprising stability, FSB has also been overclocked to 1600 (QDR) MHz. I am using a new NVidia nForce 680i SLIMB, and am using the NVidia Monitor and Control panel to do the adjusting and monitoring of speeds and temps. My main question is that according to the NVidia monitor, the overclocked CPU temp at idle is around 40-42 degrees Celsius, and at nearfull load around 58-59 degrees.Are these temperatures withinacceptable limits, and will I do any long term harm to the CPUat these settings and temperatures? I have researched the Intel web site, and according to their specs, the CPU type I have is able to handle a temp up to 71 degrees C, so I believe I am well within operating limits. When the CPU is set at its' normal operating speed of 2.4 MHz, the idle temp is around 33-35degrees C, and atnear full load is around 44 degrees C+/- 2degrees Cor so.At its' overclocked settings, the system temp is 33 degress C and the GPU is at 50 degrees C.I have Vista installed, and I have the following voltages set:

CPU 1.4500 volts

FSB 1.3000 V

The Corsair DDR2 memory is overclocked as well to 857 MHz, and the voltage to the 4MB of DDR2 memoryI have installed is 1.8500 volts.

I have also installed an aftermarket CPU fan, which seems to be able to keep the temperatures within these ranges without problems, and it is set at automatic settings, when I put it at 100% use, I am able to lower the temps down a few degrees, but I do not wish to keep the fan on 100% all the time for fear of it eventually burning out. Its' maximum operatingspeedis around 2860 RPM.

Thank you for any advice or suggestions you may have.

Rick

0 Kudos
5 Replies