Intel® Moderncode for Parallel Architectures
Support for developing parallel programming applications on Intel® Architecture.

how to charaterize cache footprint?

kewenpan
Beginner
Thank you,Rober Reed.

Your suggestions are very important for me to further study cache tuning.

I am studying on cache footprint for these days and would try to find some methods to charaterize cache

footprint.Maybe i am a little fuzzy about the concept of cache foorprint.

My understanding on cache footprint is as follows:

first, cache footprint is the frequency of accessing cache entry(TLB or L1 data cache) ????

for example ,Assure we access B object. we must fetch the pointer of B in A object before accessing B .

if both A and B are in the same cache page , we can directly find the pointer of B in TLB.The frequency of cache footprint is "1".if not ,the frequency is "2".

if both A and B is in the alignment space,we also can get the same result as the above only by accessing L1 data cache not TLB.

The smaller cache footprint of accessing cache entry in executing a task ,the higher the cache hit ratio ?

The smaller cache footprint of accessing cache entry in executing a task,the less the cache and the main memory interactive ?

The smaller cache footprint of accessing cache entry in executing a task,the faster the task executed ?

the above is my understanding about cache footprint,please correct my error.

I still have some questions which make me confused.Looking forward for your explantation.

first. the sentence "processes with small cache footprint might be scheduled together to share the available cache while another process that is a cache hog would get its own, private HW thread, the idea can reduce cache thrashing between processes."?

what is the mean of cache hog?

It means cache hot or larger cache footprint or others?

could you take a example about the above ?i don't exactly understand.

thank you for your reading and looking forward your reply.

0 Kudos
4 Replies