Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)

Strange PLL result

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi all, 

I was looking for solutions on how to generate a clock signal to drive a FIFO block. I got 2 alternatives: either build a clock frequency divider or use a PLL megafunction in Megawizard. 

I wasn't really sure of my simulation results for clock frequency divider, so I decided to PLL function. I managed to get it to work after a few hair-pulling tries (I'm still a newbie in this field) and I managed to use that signal to drive the FIFO. However I'm puzzled by the result at the start of the simulation: I got an 'X' for around 20ns before the proper clock signal is generated.  

Can anyone explain to me why is this happening? I've added a screenshot of the said result: the name of the signal is read_clock
0 Kudos
9 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

The pll takes a few cycles to lock in, meanwhile the output is undefined. If you add a locked output, then you will see the defined output appears when locked. Probably reset should be applied to the FIFO untill locked.

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---  

The pll takes a few cycles to lock in, meanwhile the output is undefined. If you add a locked output, then you will see the defined output appears when locked. Probably reset should be applied to the FIFO untill locked. 

--- Quote End ---  

Thanks for your answer. At least that cleared something. I did add a locked output, and my initial guess was that it needed some time to correctly generate the output. However I was expecting the output to be low rather than undefined during the locking phase. 

Is there a way I could force the output to low while waiting to get a lock?
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II