Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16642 Discussions

stratix III quickUSB problem

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi! I am trying to setup a new stratix III board but I am experiencing problems. Maybe I am doing something stupid, I am completely new to FPGA programming... Anyway, I unpacked the board and followed the 'quickstart guide' instructions, but when I switch on the board, the 'CFG DONE' led doesn't light up. I realized I had not installed the USB blaster drivers (do I need them even if the USB blaster is actually integrated in the board?), so I tried to do this. When I plug the usb cable in the board, the hardware is seen as 'QuickUSB QUSB2 Module v2.11.10 (SimpleI/O)', and when I follow the altera instructions to tell the PC (running winXP 32bit) where to find the driver, it just says something like 'Windows could not find dirver software for your device' (I am not quite sure as my OS is in italian...). It looks to me like I first need to get a driver for QuickUSB but searching the forum it looks like I am the only one having this issue... 

Any ideas? Thanks a lot!!! 

Martino
0 Kudos
7 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

i'm not sure why your CFG DONE LED did not light up, but i don't think its related to the USB Blaster issue. 

yes, you will need to install USB Blaster drivers even for embedded (on board) USB Blasters. 

i don't think the QuickUSB is right, i recommend you uninstall this device driver, then reconnect the USB Blaster and point it to the driver in: c:\altera\9.1sp2\quartus\drivers\usb-blaster, or similar. to uninstall the device right click on My Computer, go to Properties, Hardware, Device Manager. open up the USB section, right click on the QuickUSB, and choose Uninstall.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi!