Intel® SoC FPGA Embedded Development Suite
Support for SoC FPGA Software Development, SoC FPGA HPS Architecture, HPS SoC Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems
447 Discussions

NCONT ERROR in ACK for access 0 : ACK = 0x01 when trying to connect with Arm DS debugger through JTA

Richard_P
Beginner

Hi,

I am an embedded developer trying to help bring up a custom Arria 10 board. I can successfully load the SOF file to configure the FPGA using the Intel Quartus Prime Programming utility through a USB Blaster 1 connected to the JTAG interface, but when I try to manually load and run the preloader using the Arm DS debugger I get the "NCONT ERROR in ACK for access 0: ACK = 0x01" message in the Target Console window. From what I have read on the forums, this indicates that there is a JTAG COM issue with the board. I have consulted with our FPGA designer and board layout person, and they tell me the JTAG interface is configured and connected correctly. I tend to believe them since I can successfully load the SOF file through the JTAG interface. After getting the error, the debugger pops up a window stating "The target hardware identity could not be verified. Please check that the target being connected to is of type Arria 10 SoC". I have found a similar post on the Arm DS support website regarding this issue and followed the bare-metal user guide procedure for loading the preloader which worked for that person, but it did not work for me. The preloader instructions can be found at https://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/docs/programmable/683211/current/import-preloader.html. Any help or suggestions with this issue would be greatly appreciated. 

Thanks,

Richard

0 Kudos
17 Replies
aikeu
Employee

Hi Richard_P,

May I know how you build your project where you able to obtain the preloader?

https://github.com/altera-opensource/intel-socfpga-hwlib

https://www.rocketboards.org/foswiki/Documentation/BuildingBootloaderCycloneVAndArria10