Intel® oneAPI Math Kernel Library
Ask questions and share information with other developers who use Intel® Math Kernel Library.

All eigevalues and eigenvectors of large sparse symmetric matrix

Lukas_R_
Beginner

Hi Everyone,

In advance I am sorry for my noobish question. I am a physics PHD student
and basically I use python for my math/physics problems. 
But now I have a problem which requires more computing capacity and 
I intend to use Fortran, MKL and supercomputer.
Those three things are very new to me :). 

So my problem is:

• I have a system of 17576 atoms and real symmetric hessian matrix which describes
      interatomic interactions and has 52728x52728=2780241984 elements.
  • This matrix is very sparse: 1.56% of elements are nonzero
  • The minimum and maximum of eigenvalues and density of states are known
  • I need to diagonalise this matrix and find all eigenvalues and eigenvectors  with high precision

At the moment I am looking at FEAST and its implementations on MKL. However, examples given in solvers_eef directory does not use MPI and I don't know how to make my diagonalization script scalable. I understand that internally scalapack and MKL PARADISO uses MPI for parallel solvers. It is also written that high precision can be obtained if in single given interval there are less than 1000 eigensolutions. So my idea is to calculate whole eigenspectrum by splitting this problem into multiple intervals with less than 1000 eigenvaluesss and this can be done in parallel fashion.

So my questions are:

1.  Is it ok to use FEAST for this kind of problem or I should use something different?
  2. If FEAST is suitable for this problem, how should I distribute resources?
      For example if I use 4 nodes each with 32 cores can I divide whole problem
      into 64 intervals for each interval giving 2 MPI threads or my intuition
      is wrong about how should I approach this problem.