Intel® oneAPI Math Kernel Library
Ask questions and share information with other developers who use Intel® Math Kernel Library.
6981 Discussions

Difference between Intel MKL LAPACK and Netlib LAPACK methods for singular value decomposition

SVD
Beginner

Hello everybody,

I am a student from Germany and I am writing my bachelor's thesis about a comparison of methods for computing the singular value decomposition of arbitrary matrices.

Amongst others I want to do a practical comparison of runtime and computational error of several different algorithms for computing the singular value decomposition. For it I want to use three LAPACK methods, namely dgesvd (QR iteration), dgesdd (Divide-and-conquer algorithm) and dgesvdx (bisection/ inverse iteration).
In my case it fits best to use the LAPACK methods of Intel MKL for several reasons.

But I have a problem concerning the numerical algorithms underlying the LAPACK methods. The exact implementation is not so important for me, but I have to make sure that I know which numerical algorithms are used by the LAPACK methods. Netlib offers a documentation that indicates quite precisely which numerical algorithms are used by the Netlib LAPACK methods and on which scientific papers they are based on. Therefore I know pretty well how the Netlib LAPACK methods work. To be precise:
- dgesvd: zero-shift QR iteration according to Demmel and Kahan if singular values and vectors are to be computed, a dqds-algorithm if only singular values
- dgesdd: divide-and-conquer algorithm if singular values and vectors are to be computed, a dqds-algorithm if only singular values
- dgesvdx: forms a tridiagonal matrix and computes its eigenvalue decomposition using bisection and inverse iteration (method: dstevx)

Now my question is: