Intel® oneAPI Math Kernel Library
Ask questions and share information with other developers who use Intel® Math Kernel Library.

Fortran Preprocessor Check For MKL

ScottBoyce
Beginner

Hopefully this has a simple answer, but I have a software where the source code is distributed with the final exectuable. The final exectuable is made with Intel Fortran and I would like to start making use of the MKL subrouines, but the code has to be written in a manner that it can be compiled with other compilers.

I thought it would work to have some sort of preprossor definitions that would check if intel compiler and MKL is availible. Something like:

[fortran]

#if MKL availible

call MKL_SUB(a)

#else

call SUB(a)

#endif

[/fortran]

or

[fortran]

#if MKL availible

#def "call SUB(a)" "call MKL_SUB(a)"

#endif

call SUB(a)

#undef "call SUB(a)"

[/fortran]

Any thoughts or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I am new to using preprossors. Are there any special compile flags and.or do I have to rename the files to .fpp

0 Kudos
6 Replies
TimP
Honored Contributor III

For Ifort on Windows, adding /fpp option will invoke #ifdef style pre-processing.  There are also !dec$ directives.

On linux or Mac, the source file can either be named with .F or .F90, or -fpp option added, to invoke fpp style pre-processing.

If you look up the topic of pre-defined compiler macros in the compiler docs, you will see the symbol __INTEL_COMPILER; unfortunately it guarantees only that MKL was available to install, as it's optional in the install script.  On linux, the MKL supports most compilers you are likely to use, provided that it is installed, which it is less likely to be without presence of icc or ifort.

In the BLAS and lapack area, the library calls are the same regardless of whether you use MKL, open source, or other vendor provided libraries, so you wouldn't likely use conditional compilation this way.

0 Kudos
ScottBoyce
Beginner