Intel® oneAPI Math Kernel Library
Ask questions and share information with other developers who use Intel® Math Kernel Library.
6956 Discussions

Help on running GMRES with MKL in C++

Dilshan_Sithira_Priy

Hi,

I am new to MKL library. I tried to use to use it to solve a sparse system matrix using “GMRES” functions in MKL library.

I tried the steps in the given in examples which come with the MKL library ( “fgmres_st_criterion_c.c”). I was able to compile and run the example with ICC v19.0 ( I am using Windows 10 64bit with Intel Parallel studio 2019. I have a student license). The problem is when I ported the code into my C++ program, nothing seems to be working.

My code is written in C++ and I am using template classes. I am not sure whether this is possible or not. I have included my code until gmres solver is initialized. The initialization fails and the error code is not listed in the documentation (“RCI_request =-3689348814741910324” ). “ipar” variable has wrong values.

Additionally, I notice something strange. Let's say if I am to set “RCI_request =0” (which is not needed) before calling “dfgmres_init”. Then “dfgmres_init” will simply return RCI_request =0. But still, the “ipar” variable values are wrong. I notice the same behavior with the Conjugate Gradient method.

I have 16k elements in my problem but it will be much larger when the mesh is refined. ( n = 16000).

Thank you all in advance

Dilshan

template<class T>

void SPMV<T>::call_gmres_solver_mkl(const vector<T>& coefNeigbor, const vector<T>& RHS,

vector<T>& phi, vector<T>& phiOld) {

if (sizeof(T) == sizeof(float)) {

cout << "currently this program is written for double floatting point numbers only.\nplease update the source code and recompiler" << endl;

cout << "Program will terminate now" << endl;

cin.get();

exit(0);

}

MKL_INT n = nFl;// number of unknows

MKL_INT nEle = (nFl + (nFl*nface) - (nTtl - nFl));

if (nEle <= 0) {