Intel® oneAPI Math Kernel Library
Ask questions and share information with other developers who use Intel® Math Kernel Library.
6981 Discussions

Linking with MKL produces Segmentation Fault

peterwriesnik
Beginner
Hello everybody!

I'm quite new to using MKL-routines. I thought the easiest way of linking might be using the -mkl option on the ifort compiler as described here (http://software.intel.com/sites/products/documentation/studio/composer/en-us/2009/compiler_c/copts/common_options/option_mkl.htm). I tried the following minimal example:
[bash]module test_mod use mkl95_PRECISION use mkl95_LAPACK contains subroutine routine double precision :: D(4),E(3) D=(/1,2,3,4/) E=(/1,2,3/) call stedc(D,E) write (*,*) D end subroutine end module program main use test_mod call routine end program[/bash]
Compiling with ifort -mkl compiles, but running the binary produces segmentations faults due to the error "MKL ERROR: Parameter 1 was incorrect on entry to DSTEDC". Changing the data type to real or complex does not solve the problem. On the other hand, if i compile the same code using "call dstedc_mkl95(D,E)" instead of "call stedc(D,E)" with the following makefile
[bash]#------------------------------------------------------------------------------- IFACE_LIB=$(MKLPATH)/libmkl_intel_lp64.a THREADING_LIB=$(MKLPATH)/libmkl_intel_thread.a OMP_LIB = -L/opt/intel/lib -liomp5 CORE_LIB=$(MKLPATH)/libmkl_core.a LAPACK_LIB=$(MKLPATH)/libmkl_lapack95_lp64.a I64_INCLUDE=$(MKLINCLUDE)/intel64/lp64 MKL_LIBS=$(LAPACK_LIB) $(IFACE_LIB) $(THREADING_LIB) $(CORE_LIB) $(THREADING_LIB) $(CORE_LIB) $(THREADING_LIB) $(CORE_LIB) $(OMP_LIB) #------------------------------------------------------------------------------- test.out: test.f90 ifort -I $(I64_INCLUDE) -w $< $(MKL_LIBS) -lpthread -o test.out #-------------------------------------------------------------------------------[/bash]