Intel® oneAPI Math Kernel Library
Ask questions and share information with other developers who use Intel® Math Kernel Library.

PARADISO to solve triangular matrix system

Tripathi__Shailesh

Hello,

I want to solve a system of sparse matrix equations where my left hand matrix is lower triangular matrix. Now this process is not as expensive as decomposition of the matrix. Here, only a back-substitution step is enough. Now my questions is that if I want to do this in parallel, how can I use PARADISO (specifically cluster interface) to solve this system of equations? Can I use just one of the steps of the solver to perform back-substitution? If yes, how?

This is my first time using PARADISO so kindly hep me with this and apologies if I said anything worng.

Thanks in advance,

Shailesh

0 Kudos
6 Replies
Gennady_F_Intel

please take a look at the MKL developer reference to see - Parallel forward/backward solve control. ( iparm[24])

0 Kudos
Tripathi__Shailesh

Hello Gennady,

Thanks for your quick response. I looked at the developer reference you mentioned. As far as I understand, iparm[25] (Parallel forward/backward solve control) is used to instruct the solver to perform the forward/backward substitution in parallel. But my query is to perform only one susbtitution step without performing any decomposition. Also, I am trying to figure out a way to use cluster_sparse_solver API as my matrix will be distributed.

Thanks in advance.

Regards,

Shailesh

0 Kudos
Kirill_V_Intel
Employee

Hello Shailesh,