Intel® oneAPI Math Kernel Library
Ask questions and share information with other developers who use Intel® Math Kernel Library.

Problems with Pardiso OOC model

Xudong_L_
Beginner

Dear all,

I am a graduate student in China. Recently I am using the Pardiso solver for solving linear equations of FEM (Finite Element Method). When I increased the size of the coefficient matrix, Pardiso prompted that the memory was not enough (error -2), but I noticed the only 47% of the memory was occupied.  I don't know why and decided to use OOC model to overcome this problem. But after a few days of trying, I still don't know how to use OOC. So could you please help me with this problem?

I set iparm(60)=2 and build a "pardiso_ooc.cfg" file in the working directory whose content is,

MKL_PARDISO_OOC_PATH=./tmp

MKL_PARDISO_OOC_MAX_CORE_SIZE=60000

MKL_PARDISO_OOC_MAX_SWAP_SIZE=100000

MKL_PARDISO_OOC_KEEP_FILE=0

I'm not sure if my operation is correct. After this operation, when I use Pardiso to solve a small-size problem (which can also be solved by in-core model), 6 new files (tmp.ind, tmp.jal, tmp.lnz, tmp.lup, tmp.sin, tmp.sle) are produced automatically in the working dictionary. However, if applied to a big-size problem, Pardiso cannot work again with error -2 and no new files are produced.

The computing platform I use has 12 processors (Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-2620 v3 @ 2.4GHz) and memory of 63.0 GB, and the OS is  Linux (kernel version) 2.6.32-358.el.x86_64. The compiler is composer_xe_2013.3.163 and the ifort version is 13.1.1. The compiler is installed by seniors (the MKL is automatically installed), and I don't know how to get the version of MKL. The command I use is ''source /etc/profile" followed by "ifort xx.f -mcmodel=medium -mkl".

I am a green hand in the Linux OS and troubled by this problem for a long time. I will be appreciate if some of you can help me with it or give some advice!

Thanks for your attention!

Xudong Li

0 Kudos
2 Replies
Jing_Xu
Employee