Intel® oneAPI Math Kernel Library
Ask questions and share information with other developers who use Intel® Math Kernel Library.

ScaLapack in C essentials

hpc-matt
Beginner
Greetings Forum users and experts,

Forgive my seemingly simple question, I am still new at using Scalapack, and I am using it in C. I have read through many forum posts, and have looked at how to use the correct sequence for invoking ScaLapack routines,

Initialize MPI
Initialize CBlacs grid
Construct Data <- My issues (sort of)
Execute function call
Cleanup

When writing a program to compute QR decomposition (pdgeqrf) in C, where can I find the C interfaces to the auxiliary routines in ScaLapack. for instance, numroc_ or descinit_? Also, when constructing my data, must I use the standard scatter gather interface when using 2d block cyclic formats across multiple machines, or are those details in the invocation of the scala[ack routine?

Thanks again for all your help and patience with us new users,

Matt
0 Kudos
12 Replies
Ivan_Latkin__Intel_

Hello, Matt

Unfortunately, there is no C interface for ScaLAPACK or PBLAS.All parametersshould be passed into routines and functionsby reference, you can also define constants (i_one for 1, i_negone for -1, d_two for 2.0E+0 etc.) to pass into routines.Matrices should bestoredas 1d array(A[ i + lda*j ], not A)

To invoke ScaLAPACK routines in your program, you should first initialize grid via BLACS routines (BLACS is enough).
Second, you should distribute your matrix over process grid (block cyclic 2d distribution). You can do this by means of pdgeadd_ PBLAS routine. This routine cumputes sum of two matrices A, B: B:=alpha*A+beta*B). Matrices can have different distribution,in particularmatrixA can be owned by only one process, thus, setting alpha=1, beta=0 you cansimply copy your non-distributed matrix A into distributed matrix B.