Items with no label
3335 Discussions

Converting RealSense D415 bag file to PCD

AMahm3
Beginner

I've received my RealSense D415 10 days ago (I'm not a developer) and I was trying to use it for room scanning. I've recorded a *.bag file through the viewer and the Unity wrapper and I'm trying to convert the .bag file to a point cloud; I've tried using ROS:

rosrun pcl_ros bag_to_pcd

But the output directory is always empty, so is there a way that I can use to get a point cloud (then create a mesh) from the D415?

BTW: I've tried the *.PLY in the viewer and that's not a 3D scan it's simply a depth snap/shot of what is directly in-front of the camera not a real 3D scan. RecFusion can be used but it has limitations on the size of the object you want to scan.

Thanks in advance.

0 Kudos
59 Replies
GRedd
Novice

Hi GamesMechanic.

To be honest I am confused as to what they are targeting. Surely it is more accurate point cloud data at a higher sample frequency? If it is low accuracy at low frequency....well we already had that with old technology.

So assuming that it is more accurate point cloud data at a higher sample frequency (which to my logic it can only be), why is it so hard to get poingtcloud data with a timestamp? This should be fundamental and easy to extract. Yet there are dozens of threads on this forum of people struggling to extract such data.

I could understand if this was a 3 person startup trying to get off the ground. But this is Intel, a billion dollar corporation previously associated with excellence. Why the mediocrity? It's all very srange to me.

0 Kudos
GRedd
Novice

Hi Marty, just allow us to extract all point cloud data with a timestamp in the viewer for all frames captured in a session via a single export from a captured sequence with the ability to specify file format and you will solve so many people problems on this forum. Intel has the resources to do this. So, do it.

0 Kudos
MartyG
Honored Contributor III