Nios® V/II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® V/II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++

Compile Android to nios2

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

hello, 

I must bring s.o. Android on the Cyclone FPGA 2. You can do this? If so, how? 

thank you
0 Kudos
13 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I'm not an Android expert, but I'm guessing this is a huge task. 

First you will need to put a CPU soft core in the FPGA. Android is designed to run on ARM cores, so I think putting an ARM IP core would make the job easier than using Nios II, which would require a complete port of the kernel. But in any case you will still need to write the drivers for all the hardware that you put around the CPU. 

You must also take into account that the CPU in the FPGA will run a lot slower than a hardcore CPU, and any entry-level smartphone will have a much better performance under Android that a solution based on a Cyclone II.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---  

Android is designed to run on ARM cores, 

--- Quote End ---  

AFAIK, there are Android ports for X86 (for ATOM based devices).  

So the basic Android sources should be not too much tied to the ARM.  

OTOH ARM is a lot more similar to NIOS than X86 is, so using an ARM port as a basis seems appropriate. 

-Michael
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---  

AFAIK, there are Android ports for X86 (for ATOM based devices).  

So the basic Android sources should be not too much tied to the ARM.  

OTOH ARM is a lot more similar to NIOS than X86 is, so using an ARM port as a basis seems appropriate. 

-Michael 

--- Quote End ---  

thanks, 

and how do I implement ARM on the Cyclone 2?
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---  

and how do I implement ARM on the Cyclone 2? 

--- Quote End ---