Nios® V/II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® V/II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++
12606 Discussions

Problems with creating a Nios II Application and BSP from Template in Eclipse

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

OK, I know I'm bleeding edge here (or maybe not so much). 

I'm relatively new with using the Nios II Design Suite, though I've used Quartus with several other Altera boards. I probably did one project with Eclipse and the DE2 board back in Quartus II 7.x days. 

I've upgraded my system to Windows 7. Got Quartus II 9.1, Nios II Embedded Design Suite 9.1 and Modelsim. Installed everything then had problems with using the Parallel Port BitBlaster. I now know this is a driver issue, so I'm going to work around that (use a USB BitBlaster). During this time I've worked on the Quartus side of the software (e.g. repair, modify, etc) only. 

However, it did "work once" but now "not any more" deal. When I create a new project in Nios II Design Suite, I don't get the "nios ii application and bsp from template" option. It looks like the plain Eclipse deal. I did work once before (I have files to prove it) but now I don't get the option. 

I've repaired, then removed/reinstalled Nios II EDS. 

Anybody got any clues? 

0 Kudos
12 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi katchins. 

Unfortunately, I do not have an answer to your problem. In fact, I'm facing the same issue than you are, which is that after installing Quartus II 9.1, I can't get the "Nios II Application and BSP from Template" option when creating a Project with Eclipse. I'll add that I work with Windows XP, which probably means that the issue may not be platform related. Removing, re-installing, repairing both Quartus and Nios II EDS didn't resolve anything. 

I'd really appreciate any hint or idea on how to get that menu back. 

Tthegarde
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum