Nios® V/II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® V/II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++
12606 Discussions

What's the general way to incorporate handwritten module with TSE ethernet?

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Suppose we have handwritten IP module that continuously reads data from ADC, processes it and writes to some on-chip fifo. Now we want to send those data via Ethernet. I got impression the common way for doing this is to build SOC in SOPC builder with NIOS, TSE, SGDMAs, DDR, descriptor memory, packet memory etc. and run ucos with Interniche stack to get ethernet. I am a newbie in NIOS embedded programming and it is not clear for me how to program software in order to move data from my module to TSE. If I instantiate my module in SOPC as a streaming source, can I somehow directly connect it to TSE transmit sink? Or I have to go through buffer packet memory as I saw in examples? Do I need to write driver for my module for data transfers? Lots of questions, but the general one is how to interface handwritten module with SOPC\NIOS IDE and move data fast from it to TSE in software\hardware?

0 Kudos
10 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello, 

Depending the protocol you want to use via Ethernet, you don't have to use an TCP/IP stack with an OS running... 

I've done some design using the TSE in "stand alone mode" in order to transfert data using UDP protocol. You just have to instanciate it, write some logic interface between the TSE and your IP/FIFO and your're done. The only thing anoying is computing CRCs. 

However, I you prefer/need to use a NIOS/OS/DDR I'm sorry I can't help you :) 

Regards, 

Franck.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---  

Hello, 

Depending the protocol you want to use via Ethernet, you don't have to use an TCP/IP stack with an OS running...