OpenCL* for CPU
Ask questions and share information on Intel® SDK for OpenCL™ Applications and OpenCL™ implementations for Intel® CPU.
Announcements
This forum covers OpenCL* for CPU only. OpenCL* for GPU questions can be asked in the GPU Compute Software forum. Intel® FPGA SDK for OpenCL™ questions can be ask in the FPGA Intel® High Level Design forum.
1719 Discussions

Profiling in openCL and Intel HD graphics Vs dedicated graphics

shashwat_D_
Beginner

Hi All!!!
I'm new to openCL and willing to compare performance gain between c code and openCL kernels.
Can someone please elaborate which method among these 2 is better/correct for profiling openCL code when comparing performance with c reference code:

1. Using QueryPerformanceCounter()/__rdtsc() cycles (called inside getTime Function)

ret |= clFinish(command_queue); //Empty the queue

getTime(&begin);
    ret |= clEnqueueNDRangeKernel(command_queue, kernel, 2, NULL, global_ws, NULL, 0, NULL, NULL);    //Profiling Disabled.
    ret |= clFinish(command_queue);
    getTime(&end);
    g_NDRangePureExecTimeSec = elapsed_time(&begin, &end);        //Performs: (end-begin)/(CLOCK_PER_CYCLE*CLOCK_PER_CYCLE*CLOCK_PER_CYCLE)

2. Using events profiling:

ret = clEnqueueMarker(command_queue, &evt1);    //Empty the Queue
    ret |= clEnqueueNDRangeKernel(command_queue, kernel, 2, NULL, global_ws, NULL, 0, NULL, &evt1);
    ret |= clWaitForEvents(1, &evt1);
    ret |= clGetEventProfilingInfo(evt1, CL_PROFILING_COMMAND_START, sizeof(cl_long), &begin, NULL);
    ret |= clGetEventProfilingInfo(evt1, CL_PROFILING_COMMAND_END, sizeof(cl_long), &end, NULL);
    g_NDRangePureExecTimeSec = (cl_double)(end - begin)/(CLOCK_PER_CYCLE*CLOCK_PER_CYCLE*CLOCK_PER_CYCLE);    //nSec to Sec
    ret |= clReleaseEvent(evt1);

Furthermore I'm not using a dedicated graphics card and utilizing Intel HD 4600 integrated graphics for following piece of code:

__kernel void filter_rows(__global float *ip_img,\