Processors
Intel® Processors, Tools, and Utilities
14579 Discussions

Please Help! 4790k

sboy1
Beginner

Hi. This is my first post. Please bear with me. I don't know if I'm posting this in he right place also..

Basically I'm a reseller from South Africa.I bought a CPU that comes from a local supplier. Long story short, I was cleaning the CPU because I was going to use it in a z97 motherboard. Upon close inspection, I noticed that the CPU has a bend and the entire PCB wasn't level. Not sure if it is called a PCB, but it is the underside of the CPU where the gold contacts are.The green "board". It has a bend on the one side. I was shocked. I'm a PC technician for approximately 10 years and never saw something like this. I was concerned cause I remember reading an article a few years back. I think it was in the time when the Core 2 series were launched. Where it was stated that if the CPU doesn't make proper contact, the area which doesn't touch the motherboard pins, will start to burn. Turned out it was the motherboard socket clamp that was the problem.

So I took it back to the supplier. I waited and got a call from the technician. He said that the company cannot replace the CPU cause its damaged. I was upset.... The CPU isn't damaged at all. So I told him that I wasn't responsible for the deformed CPU and its not damaged. His argument is that maybe I was forcing the CPU in the socket or a large gaming CPU Heatsink could've cause the bend.

But there is no indentations or signs or physical force on the underside of the CPU. So they told me that they are going to take photos and send it via email to show INTEL CORP the CPU. And if they say they cannot replace the unit then there is nothing I can do.