Processors
Intel® Processors, Tools, and Utilities
14581 Discussions

i5 3570K Heatsink Issue/Question

idata
Employee

So I recently built my first rig, and everything seemed to be running fine at first. For purposes of this topic, the Motherboard I'm using is the Asus Sabertooth Z77, and the CPU is the i5 ivy bridge 3570K.

The issue I'm running into now is that the CPU fan seems to only run occasionally (maybe after a few boots or so, or only after I've had my computer running for a bit). I'm new to computer builds and all the components, but I would've assumed that the CPU fan would run non-stop? Usually when I boot up windows, I get an error message in the bottom right hand corner, that informs me that my CPU fan is running at 0 RPM's. When I monitor the fan using the Asus AI Suite, the CPU fan reads as N/A, but then will occasionally spin. Even without my CP fan running, my CPU idles at around 35-40 degrees. I ordered a Corsair Hyper 212 evo, because I'm assuming that its just a faulty heatsink. I've made sure the connections are all solid, etc, so any other tips would be greatly appreciated. Like I said though, if I boot up my computer, the fan kind of stutters like its trying to power itself up, but it fails to.

Not sure if theres a setting in BiOS or something like that, or if its a specific feature that the fan only runs when it hits a certain temperature (like a toggle setting somewhere?), but I'm not sure.

Thanks

0 Kudos
1 Solution
idata
Employee

Processor fans run between 900rpms – 3000rpms depending on the processor's load and temperature.

For troubleshooting purposes:

1. 1- Test the fan on a different case fan header. If issue replicates, your fan is having issues.

If the fan is properly working on another fan header:

1. 1- Make sure your motherboard has the latest BIOS version for it to load the latest micro code available for your processor for a proper recognition of it.
  2. 2- Contact your motherboard manufacturer for warranty assistance