Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20713 Discussions

Cyclone 4 deserialization, banks, pll

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Dear Gurus; 

I have 1 Cyclone IV GX EP4CGX150(DF27C7) 

This Cyclone IV is connected to 6 x Cyclone III (C40F484) 

All of these 6 Cyclone IIIs will send 4 bit LVDS serialized input data and a clock(120mhz) 

I need to deserialize 4 bits of data with their respective clocks by Cyclone IV GXEP4CGX150 

questions 

1- Which banks should I use for these 30pins (4 bit data and clock inputs) x6 

2- What is the number of PLLs that I need to use while desialization 

PS: I used to do this with Xilinx Spartan 6 but I am new to Altera.
0 Kudos
8 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I guess, the accompanying clock is a frame (slow) clock. Then each receiver needs a separate PLL to generate a bit clock for the respective channel In other words, you can't implement 6 receivers in a single Cyclone IV. 

If some prerequisites are met (>600 MBPS bit rate, coding with maximum run length, embedded sync patterns), GX receivers may be also utilized.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

But in the `clock networks and plls in the cyclone devices` datasheet it is stated that 

`Cyclone 4 GX device contain up to 8 general purpose PLLs and multipurpose PLLs.` 

Cant I generate 6 receivers using these 8 PLLs
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---  

Cyclone 4 GX device contain up to 8 general purpose PLLs and multipurpose PLLs 

--- Quote End ---  

Right, I didn't notice this. I must confess, I'm not familiar with these C IV extensions. Sorry for the confusion.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Yes there will be slow clock and there will be a fast clock 

With the fast clock => deserialization will be done 

With the slow clock => paralel data(N:0) will be latched for each slow cycle clock
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II