Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20705 Discussions

Cyclone III + EPCS4 + UART remote upgrade

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi ALL, I have a custom logic design in a Cyclone III FPGA (EP3C10). The configuration is stored in a EPCS4 configuration device and I am using AS scheme to configure the FPGA at factory. Also, there's a MCU that talks to the FPGA on an UART port (currently unused). I need to implement field upgrade function so that I can upgrade the FPGA firmware in the EPCS4 configuration device and trigger a re-configuration so the FPGA will run the new firmware.  

I've been trying to find some documentation or examples on the Internet. I found this example (http://www.grigaitis.eu/?p=514) is similar to what I want to do. 

Following the example with my very limited understanding of Qsys (I am very new to the Qsys thing), I should have the following: 

1). Nios II processor 

2). On-chip Memory (for the Nios II processor) 

3). Remote Update Controller (Cyclone III) 

4). EPCS Flash Controller 

5). JTAG UART 

After generate from Qsys (see Qsys.jpg), I incorporate this into the FPGA design in Quartus II (see Quartus II.jpg). I then compile the design (see Quartus II Compilation.jpg) and follow my usual routine of convert the programming file into a .jic file and load the EPCS4 with this file.