Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20725 Discussions

Division Approximation In Fm Demodulator

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

i am a post-graduate student at the university of ioannina greece "physics department". my thesis subject has to do about an implement of sdr receiver and demodulation of fm signal. i already have implement the ddc part in an fpga with my i and q signals in two complement's integer format (the same format used by the adc) but i have problem with the demodulation and especially with division.i use a digital phase discriminator algorithm witch produce an output following the next equation (i*dq – qdi)/(i^2 + q^2).i can compute the numerator and the denominator but the problem is with division. i can use a divisor but the result from this division is just a quotient and a remainder, this wont give the desired output in a fixed scale capable to be processed properly by a dac.is there any possible way to implement a divisor with a fixed range quotient in regard with the remainder.in other words is it possible to produce an approximated quotient from the division of two complement format signals. with only the knowledge of the first quotient and the remainder, and if that is possible what is the form of the output?any answer guidance proposed bibliography or links will be very helpful. (http://www.fpga4fun.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1669&start=0&postdays=0&postorder=asc&highlight=)

0 Kudos
23 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, 

If you mean how to round up to nearest integer value then: 

With 2's complement of any computation result we can do rounding by looking at the remainder's MSB. If this MSB bit is 1 then add 1 to quotient else leave the quotient unchanged. This applies to both positive and negative numbers. 

Be careful about overflowing at this addition of 1 

If rounding is not enough then you have to increase the bit resolution. 

edit: