Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20721 Discussions

LCD TOUCH SCREEN ON NEEK (Nios II Cyclone III edition)

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, 

Some of you may see me as a total noob, but i had 1 year experience in FPGA stuff on a spartan-3 board, exploitted every connector on it.  

Anyways, i am trying to get accustomed to my new Altera Nios II Cyclone III edition. First of all i am looking for a general overview for this thing, what i can do , what i can't. And most of the time, everything done on this board is dependent on Nios II processor. For example when i want to use Touch screen lcd by a stand-alone lcdcontroller.v but in many designs it has been hooked up with various other components.  

is there a stand-alone lcdcontroller? And one more question, several stuff are being generated by a third party software named SOPC, is there a nice tutorial with examples about what i can do with this stuff. 

I am developing a system which consists of SRAM, LCD TOUCH SCREEN and rs232 so i have coded my rs232 and sram but i have no idea how to start with an lcd touch screen. Is it possible that someone out there, has written an verilog code for controlling this lcd touch screen , can share it with us? 

And are IP generated components open-source ? 

Thanx in advance
0 Kudos
8 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

DID You got the Answer. i in much like a situation like you. 

Can you please post your suggestionss..
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello it's a very simple SPI device on the NEEK. AD7843. 

You just have to read the X and Y value of the ADC converter (12bits) 

Bye
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Is it that much Simple(LCD too?).. Well if you got time just drop by with a simple code block. meanwhile i do my best.. Thanks for Reply..

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

o i study VHDL

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Process undergoing.