Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20713 Discussions

Me and my simple questions: Can I do this in FPGA?

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi dear Altera friends. Sorry for the simple questions, i'm a beginner. My FPGA is DE1-SoC University, i'm learning how to use it. 

My question today is the following one: 

Until now, with the help of the student material of Altera, I have learn how to implement simple circuits, ALU and registers. Now, Is it possible to implement in hardware complicated equations? Like 1 divided by a a big number, or square roots, I mean, to work with real numbers like 0.0031416 and so on?  

I know how to do this either in C and Assembler, but I don't know if this is possible to do in FPGA and VHDL. 

A senior friend told me, this is not possible to do in VHDL, he said I have to make of use ARM chip in my FPGA and program it fon C, since FPGA and VHDL alone is not able to perform such of calculations. 

What can you say about this? 

Example: 

http://www.alteraforum.com/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=11555&stc=1
0 Kudos
37 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

i read there are conversation about number manipulations, what are you trying to design? digital image processing or ?

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---  

I wanted to consult one more thing to you guys, the Soft Core Nios II, would it be more easy to use this CPU for my purpose by programming a custom logic? In that case I'd use C language ,right? so in the end will be more easy?  

rromano001 yes, i will start by programming as you said, regarding your questions 

but now how large is image :  

There is not actual image, I want to use a list of numbers, every number (binary) indicate a pixel intensity, I'm reducing everything to the clustering of a list of numbers, which can be 1000 numbers for example to be grouped in 3 clusters by calculating its membership value and centroids.