Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20754 Discussions

Ok I must be an idiot :P

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi people, 

I am new to this so go easy on me. What I am trying to make is a block that has 3 inputs up, down, reset and one 12bit output. when i pulse up i want it to count up by 3, when I pulse down i want it to count down by 3, when i pulse reset I want it to reset to 250. 

here is my code atm: 

module updown ( up , down , reset , counter_out ); // End of port list //-------------Input Ports----------------------------- input up ; input down ; input reset ; //-------------Output Ports---------------------------- output counter_out ; //-------------Input ports Data Type------------------- wire up ; wire down ; wire reset ; //-------------Output Ports Data Type------------------ reg counter_out ; //-------------Internal Variables---------------------- //------------Code Starts Here------------------------- always @ (posedge reset or posedge up or posedge down ) begin if (reset) begin counter_out =# 3 250 ; end else if (down) begin counter_out =# 3 counter_out - 3 ; end else if (up) begin counter_out =# 3 counter_out + 3 ; end end endmodule 

Atm reset and up work if i hit down it counts down for the entire time that down is held high. If i change up and down location in the if statement then down works and up does not.... 

Chris
0 Kudos
4 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello, 

on the one hand, I see a lack of clarity with the Verilog always @ construct that requirers to use a posedge or negedge for an asynchronous reset. It's much clearer in VHDL to my opinion. But the basic point is that you can't have a synchronous register or a group of registers (e. g. a counter) with more than one clock input. If your design actually has two separate clocks, you must first preprocess these signals to get a single unequivocal clock and e. g. separate up and down qualifiers. 

Regards, 

Frank
0 Kudos